Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Senior Book Club

November 28 @ 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every month that begins at 2:00pm on day Fourth of the month, repeating until December 26, 2018

| Kingsley Branch Library

Our Senior Book Club meets on the 4th Wednesday of each month* in the library’s Community Room.  A lively discussion is always in session when this group of people meets!

For November’s SBC, we will be discussing “Before We Were Yours” by Lisa Wingate.

If you have questions, or need to reserve a copy of the book, please call the library at 231-263-5484.

(*We do not meet in December, June, July, or August.)

Before we were yours : a novel

Wingate, Lisa

Summary: "Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale. Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge--until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents--but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty. Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption. Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals--in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country--Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong"--

Call Number: FIC WIN

 

Source: https://catalog.tadl.org/main/details?id=48126580

Details

Date:
November 28
Time:
2:00 pm - 3:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Kingsley Branch Library
213 S Brownson Ave
Kingsley, MI 49649 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
231-263-5484
Website:
https://www.tadl.org/kingsley

Other

Room
Community Room