Board Meetings and Minutes


The Traverse Area District Library (TADL) was created in 1982 by joint resolution of the City of Traverse City and Grand Traverse County. In 1983, voters approved establishment of the District along with an operational millage to support library services throughout the District. In 1996, voters approved a 20-year operational millage of 1.1 mils along with a facilities bond not to exceed $8.5 million. In 2016, voters approved a 10-year renewal of the operational millage levy (currently 0.94310 mils due to Headlee Rollbacks). In January 2017, the 1996 facilities bond was retired and in the bond mortgage was paid in full in May 2017.

There are 7 members of the Traverse Area District Library (TADL) Board. All members are appointed to a four year term. Five members are appointed by the Grand Traverse County Commission, two board members are appointed by the Traverse City Commission. The Library Board sets policy for TADL including Woodmere, East Bay and Kingsley Branches and negotiates contracts for service with each Member Library. The Board also hires and evaluates the performance of the Library Director. TADL is a district library, which means we are a taxing authority. TADL receives funds from these areas: Grand Traverse County, Elmwood Township in Leelanau County and Almira and Inland Townships in Benzie County.

Agendas and Minutes

The public is invited to attend the following meetings. Public comment is invited at the beginning and at the conclusion of each meeting. Meetings are recorded and played back on Traverse Area Community Media for a period of time following each meeting. View the latest TADL Board Meetings at Traverse Area Community Media.

Unless otherwise indicated, Traverse Area District Library Regular Board meetings are scheduled for 4:00 PM on the third Thursday each month in the McGuire room at 610 Woodmere Ave., Traverse City, MI.

The seven members of the Traverse Area District Library Board

Board of Trustees Meeting Agendas and Minutes (2022)

Previous years: (2021) (2020) (2019) (2018) (2017) (2016) (2015) (2014) (2013) (2012) (2011)

Branches and Member Libraries

Services are provided through six library facilities within the District. Of these six, three are under the control of the TADL Board: the Main branch on Woodmere, the East Bay Branch Library on Three Mile; and, the Kingsley Branch Library on Brownson. The other three, like TADL, are autonomous political subdivisions of the State of Michigan. These are known as “member libraries” as opposed to “branch libraries” and each has its own elected Board, adopts its own budget, hires its own staff and sets its own policies. The member libraries are Fife Lake Public Library, Interlochen Public Library, and Peninsula Community Library.